Guides: Computer Science: Find Articles and more

Best-bet article databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full-text repository of papers published by the Association for Computing Machinery and by other publishers that have co-publishing or co-marketing agreements with ACM.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Access to business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Search through a collection of science journals covering both applied and physical sciences.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 2000 - present.

From around the Web

Programming & Algorithms:
CPAN (comprehensive Perl Archive Network)
Programmers Heaven (languages, platforms, applications, web development forums)
W3 Schools Online Web Tutorials
Academic Mind (free, high-quality tutorials)
GitHub (Friendly Forks; Career tips for beginner developers)
The Stony Brook Algorithm Repository

Organizations:
Science.gov
National Security Agency
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency
ICANN
OSTI (Office of Scientific and Technical Information)

Bibliographies:
The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies (bibliographies of scientific literature in CS; updated weekly)
The DBLP Computer Science Bibliographies (open bibliographic information on major CS journals)
HCI Bibliography (Human-Computer Interaction related bibliography 1998-2018)

female engineer at work bench
Photo credit: ThisisEngineering RAEng

Finding Data Sets

Photo: Leif Christoph Gottwald

CAIDA.org
Center for Applied Internet Data Analysis conducts network research to provide macroscopic insights into Internet infrastructure, behavior, usage and evolution to inform science, technology and communications of public policies.
DOE Data Explorer
Search tool for DOE-funded datasets, data collections, and data projects.
Gale Business: Demographics Now
Demographic reports on any geography - or compare multiple geographies - for information on income, housing, race, age,education, and more.
International Monetary Fund Data
Data by indicator, by country, along with multiple datasets. Be sure to check out the eLibrary and International Financial Statistics (IFS) links.
Statistica
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications and government source on over 600 industries.
Statistical Abstract of the US
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US.
UN Data
A single entry point for all publicly-available UN databases. Also includes international financial statistics, world development indicators, OECD data, LABORSTA, and key indicators of the labour market.
US Census Data
Data and digital content from the US Census Bureau.
World Bank Data
Provided as a free resource by the World Bank, the data portal provides access to current and archived data on international development.

Computer Science

Ask A Librarian

Best-bet article databases

From around the Web

Finding Data Sets

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.