Guides: Political Science: Find Scholarly Articles and Government Publications

Databases

Databases in which you can find scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles on topics related to Political Science

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.

Databases with full-text official U.S. government publications

Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. Congressional Documents (1789-Present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), Congressional Record (1873-1997), Congressional Research Reports (1916-2003), Serial Set (1789-Present), Serial Set Maps (1789-1969).
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Federal Legislative History Library consists of two main parts: The Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database and The Legislative History Title Collection.
Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Documents produced as a bill moves through the legislative process to become a law.
Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law text, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous.Other full-text publication types are included in our legislative histories to provide users with background material are committee prints, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications. Presidential signing statements are also included.

Non-partisan discussion of issues

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine This link opens in a new window
The CQ Magazine is a resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill. It includes full text of articles published since 1983. Browse issues or search for articles using words, dates, subjects , etc.

Pro & Con This link opens in a new window
Designed to educate professionals and the public by providing an impartial view of controversial issues in Congress.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.