Guides: Aquatic & Marine Biology: Welcome and Best Bet Databases

Welcome

Welcome to the Aquatic and Marine Biology research guide! This guide provides information about the resources available at the duPont-Ball Library and on the web related to marine biology.

It covers search tips for finding books, eBooks, journal articles, and other materials.

The library also provides research services to help you find and use the information you need.

Ask a Librarian
Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
Make an appointment with a librarian for personalized assistance.

Photo credit: "Blue Springs" by Don Richards. Used under the CC-BY 2.0 License.

Best Bets to Find Articles on Aquatic and Marine Biology

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 2000-present.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics.

Find books, articles, videos, and more with OneSearch

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Select the Stetson Collections Only option to search for items accessible through the duPont-Ball Library.

1. Limit to a particular type of information source before searching or search All Items.

2. Select Stetson Collections Only if you you want to limit to items accessible through our library.

Quick Overviews of Biological Abstracts and ScienceDirect

Subject-specific databases can help you find journal articles relevant to your discipline.

Help with Web of Science and Biological Abstracts
The Help Screens from Clarivate Analytics (the vendor for Biological Abstracts and Web of Science) will help you navigate the database.
Science Direct Tutorials
A number of tutorials produced by Elsevier (the vendor for Science Direct). These videos will help you navigate the Science Direct database.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

Aquatic & Marine Biology

Welcome

Best Bets to Find Articles on Aquatic and Marine Biology

This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.

Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).

Provides access to a wide range of biology topics.

Find books, articles, videos, and more with OneSearch

Select the Stetson Collections Only option to search for items accessible through the duPont-Ball Library.

1. Limit to a particular type of information source before searching or search All Items.

2. Select Stetson Collections Only if you you want to limit to items accessible through our library.

Quick Overviews of Biological Abstracts and ScienceDirect