Skip to Main Content duPont-Ball Library - Stetson University Library Home - duPont-Ball Library - Stetson University - Library Guides at Stetson University duPont-Ball Library - Stetson University

U.S. Presidents

Where to find current and historical information about the individuals who have served as President of the U.S.

American Presidency Project - University of California, Santa Barbara

American Presidency Project
The Presidential Documents Archive contains 104,855 documents related to the study of the Presidency
more...less...
• Executive Orders
• Signing Statements
• Proclamations
• Inaugural addresses
• State of the Union addresses
• News Conference and Press Briefing transcripts

Also included is much material about Presidential elections, including:
•nomination acceptance speeches
•Presidential candidates debates
•election results

A Media Archive contains audio/video clips for Presidents from Hoover through Obama

The White House

The White House
The White House web site contains biographical and policy information for the sitting President.

Presidential Libraries - National Archives amd Records Administration

Presidential Libraries
This federal agency web site contains information about and links to the Presidential Libraries in the United States. Many of the libraries have digitized documents, photographs, and memorabilia on their sites, so these are promising sources for primary source materials.

Founders Online - National Archives and Records Administration

Founders Online
Founders Online contains over 151,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the authoritative Founding Fathers Papers projects. Founders Online collects in one place the papers, written by or addressed to, six key figures of the era:

George Washington
John Adams
Thomas Jefferson
Alexander Hamilton
James Madison
Benjamin Franklin
more...less...
Through this Web site, you can access annotated first drafts of the Declaration of Independence, the spirited debate over the Constitution and Bill of Rights, and the records of the very beginnings of our national story. You can also read firsthand the details of the Founders’ personal lives as conveyed in their letters. Documents in original handwriting have been transcribed so they are legible. Contents may be searched by keyword, writer, recipient's name, and era.

Four of the six Founding Fathers whose papers are included in Founders Online went on to become the U.S. President.

Presidential Vetoes 1789 to the present

Presidential Vetoes 1789 to the Present
A Senate Web page that list all presidents since 1789, the number of bills they vetoed, whether the vetoes were regular or pocket vetoes, and how many of the vetoes were overridden by Congress. Click on the President's name and a table opens containing links to the texts of the vetoed bills, the date vetoed, a link to any accompanying message from the President, and the final or current status of the bill.