Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction: a Research Guide

Suggestions for finding books, journal articles, primary documents, and Web sites about the U.S. Civil War

Civil War materials in Library Archives

The duPont-Ball Library digital Archives collection contains the following primary sources on the Civil War:


Three Civil War Letters, June 21, September 2, 1861; March 20, 1862. To ‘Brother’ (George H. Standish) from Amos S. Standish.

  • Go to the Archives homepage
  • Click on "Memorabilia Collection"
  • In the Advanced Search window, type Standish letters to look at digitized images of the 3 letters:

Memorabilia 2201
Memorabilia 2202         
Memorabilia 2203  
 

Civil War materials in the Library Treasure Collection

The Library Treasure Collection, which is part of the Archives Department, houses old, rare and fragile books.  There are a few books about the Civil War in the Treasure Collection.  Some are primary source, others are not.  Treasure books cannot be checked out and must be used in the library.  Ask at the information desk for help getting the books.

Among the titles is this book: 

Browne, Junius Henri, 1833-1902.

Four years in Secessia: adventures within and beyond the Union lines: embracing a great variety of facts, incidents, and romance of the war ...

Hartford, O.D. Case and Company; Chicago, Geo. & C.W. Sherwood; London, Stevens Brothers, 1865.

Physical descrip: vi, 450 p. 8 plates. 22 cm.

Geographic term: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives.

Geographic term: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons

Use OneSearch to find items in the Treasure Collection

  1. Go to the Library home page
  2. Click on "Advanced Search" in the center box
  3. Enter the Keywords United States civil war AND treasure collection
  4. On the results list page, in the left-hand filters column, check the boxes for Stetson University and Books

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.