Guides: FSEM 100: The Spirit of Travel: Getting Started

Welcome!

Welcome to the research guide for FSEM 100: The Spirit of Travel!

This guide describes databases and research tools that you can use to find sources at the duPont-Ball Library and on the web, as well as search tips and information about library services.

The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. As always, get in touch with a librarian and we'll be happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.

Ask a Librarian
- Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@Stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
- Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Assignment details

FSEM Pilgrimage Research Project, Fall 2023
Updated assignment for FSEM Pilgrimage Research Project (Prof Barber, Fall 2023, Dublin)

OneSearch

OneSearch
Use OneSearch to search the duPont-Ball Library collection and Libraries Worldwide.

Find Background Information

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, this descriptive dictionary traces the historical development of the language.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.

Popular Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.

Survey

How did the library session go? Let us know! This survey is intended for you to fill out after a librarian visits your class.

Click the link below to begin:

stetson.libinsight.com/duponteval

FSEM 100: The Spirit of Travel

Ask A Librarian

Learn more about...