Guides: Exceptional Student Education: Finding databases and articles

Education Databases

ERIC (Education) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to education-related literature including education-related journals, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Coverage from 1961-present.
ERIC (Education) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Access 14,000+ documents and over 20,000+ journal articles per year. Coverage from 1966-present.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy includes documentaries and feature films. All videos provided through the Kanopy streaming video platform have public performance rights.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform with thousands of documentaries, educational films and news reels. Content from Films on Demand can be shown in the classroom setting and linked in your Canvas course.

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with full-text for many journals dating back to 1895.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Peterson’s Test and Career Prep This link opens in a new window
A one-stop experience for test preparation for college and graduate/professional school standardized exams. Provides practice tests and prep materials for: GRE, LSAT, GMAT, MCAT, etc. Click Explore Careers to learn more about careers, to create a resume and cover letter, and to get career advice.
WestlawNext This link opens in a new window
Access a collection of news and business information and law-related resources (legal documents, cases, statutes, regulations, and articles).

Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Search by genre, title, or author. Includes reading recommendations and award lists.

Florida Electronic Library - by Grade
Databases for elementary, middle, and high school students. Includes a list for teachers, too.

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.

Finding articles in ERIC

The ERIC database is focused on Education and includes articles, reports, and books about education in the U.S. and around the globe.

ERIC (Education) (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide access to education-related literature including education-related journals, books, theses, curricula, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Coverage from 1961-present.

Connect to the ERIC database and type some keywords that describe the information you're hoping to find.

At the results page, you can set limiters to refine the results.

Results below reflect new limiters. Click to connect to full text. Consider using the words the database uses to describe articles to find additional articles related to the topic.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

Exceptional Student Education

Education Databases

Finding articles in ERIC