 |
Call or text 386.747.9028 |
General Academic Databases:
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Philosophy-focused databases:
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
Law & Legal focused databases:
Includes full-text Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library, court and trial documents, and more. Provided by the Stetson University College of Law.
Access a collection of news and business information and law-related resources (legal documents, cases, statutes, regulations, and articles).
Newspaper resources:
Includes full page images of newspaper articles, including advertisements. Indexing is keyword. The library subscribes to the full package: New York Times 1851-2017, Wall Street Journal 1889-2003, Washington Post 1877-2004, Christian Science Monitor 1908-2007, Los Angeles Times- 1881-1996. For recent newspaper articles, see our Newspaper Databases.
Sometimes we run into trouble when researching online. One search query yields more results than we could ever begin to sift through, while another might return zero. It's all in the way you search. Check out the tips and tricks below to get the best results when researching.
Googling is second-nature to many of us. This search engine can yield great results, but it isn't always the best choice for academic research. Did you know that you have access to a ton of databases that contain content for the humanities, biology, communications and media studies, economics, and everything in between? No matter what your subject area, the library has a database that caters to your needs.
Still not convinced? Check out some of the main differences between library databases and Google below.