Guides: AMST/HIST 152: American History Books and Book Reviews: Databases for class research

Databases for locating research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Coverage of gender in culture and society. Includes scholarly journals and magazines.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other materials on topics related to gender.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Covers the black experience from its African origins to the present day. Topics include history, biography, literature, arts, music, pop culture, folklore, business, slavery, civil rights, politics, sports, education, and science & technology.
Includes hundreds of primary documents: manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, statistics, and other papers; More than 4,000 interviews with former slaves, including the WPA slave narratives from the acclaimed The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography; Sixty-seven Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s classics in black scholarship. Other Features: In their Own Voices (audio clips, such as interviews with former slaves and music files). Links to vetted Web sites. Lesson plans, directly tied to associated primary source documents and images, and other classroom resources. Hundreds and hundreds of photographs, maps, and other images.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archival materials including: digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and more.
African-American History This link opens in a new window
Reference book articles, videos, timelines, primary sources, biographies, maps, and more.
America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations This link opens in a new window
Includes newsletters, position papers, and FBI reports dealing with every aspect of antiwar work carried out by the Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW). Covers 1967-1975.
Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive and systematically organized collection of material on this series of events. All aspects of the war are covered in this collection.
Contents cover the Viet Cong and the Ho Chi Minh Trail in Southeast Asia, the campuses and political forums in the U.S., and conflicting perceptions about the nature, course, and purpose of the war. The collection spans 21 years and includes 365,000 pages of materials.
ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage begins in 1949.
Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. Congressional Documents (1789-Present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), Congressional Record (1873-1997), Congressional Research Reports (1916-2003), Serial Set (1789-Present), Serial Set Maps (1789-1969).
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Includes perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Filter to Stetson Library to search the collections of the duPont-Ball Library.

AMST/HIST 152: American History Books and Book Reviews

Databases for locating research

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.