Guides: FSEM 100: USA, The Natural Experiment: Home

Welcome

This guide describes databases, search tools, and library services that support your research.

The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. Librarians are happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.

Ask a Librarian
Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Find Background Information

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

The Atlas of Climate Change
This highly acclaimed atlas distills the vast science of climate change, providing a reliable and insightful guide to this rapidly growing field. Since the 2006 publication of the first edition, climate change has climbed even higher up the global agenda. This new edition reflects the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and in current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the worlds weather.
The Oxford Companion to Global Change
An up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. The Companion brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems.

Finding articles

Use the following databases to locate articles and other materials on relevant topics.

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Includes perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

All Environmental Science and Studies Databases
View the full list of library databases that contain content that is relevant to Environmental Science and Studies.

ProQuest Complete This link opens in a new window
Searching most of the ProQuest databases at once, including ProQuest Research, ABI/Inform, GenderWatch, Hoovers Company Records, ProQuest Biology, Science, and Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Newspapers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available. JSTOR has a number of other collections to which we do not subscribe. Provided through a cooperative agreement with Stetson's College of Law Library.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.

FSEM 100: USA, The Natural Experiment

Welcome

Find Background Information

Finding articles

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.