Guides: Music: Special Aspects of Music

Specialized Databases for Music

Locating scores - bibliographic and purchase information:

Music in Print This link opens in a new window
Gives full bibliographic information for printed scores, including sources for purchase.
Includes the Music-In-Print volumes on Sacred Choral, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, and Piano Music In Print. A new feature is a collection entitled Miscellaneous Music In Print which includes several important categories coming soon to The Music-In-Print Series: Band, Brass, Handbell, Percussion, Harp, and more. Secular Choral and Organ Music In Print are to be made available in 2002. Please note that due to copyright issues, the base volume of String Music In Print (1973) is not available online.
Sheet Music Consortium This link opens in a new window
Open Access collection of digitized sheet music. Also provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online scores database that encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.

Information on the music industry:

Musical America This link opens in a new window
Weekly newspaper of music and the music business. Includes music industry news, upcoming events, press releases, on-line polls, articles and a directory of artists and management.

Transpositions source:

Art Song Transpositions This link opens in a new window
Provides sheet music transpositions into different keys for art songs, arias, and musical theatre titles.

Transcriptions and translations of opera and song texts:

IPA Source This link opens in a new window
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Includes more than 4,790 texts, with 770 aria texts.

Reference databases for general music topics:

Music Online Reference Databases This link opens in a new window
Cross searchable database of music reference sources that allows the user to search the following titles simultaneously: African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, and Classical Scores Library. The subscription is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online) This link opens in a new window
The gateway to all Oxford's music resources, including Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.