Guides: HIST 359: The Birth of Modern America: Home

Welcome

This guide describes databases, search tools, and library services that support your research in HIST 359.

The library is here to support you in all your research endeavors. Librarians are happy to answer any questions or provide additional help.

Ask a Librarian
Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.
Request a Research Consultation
Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Find Background Information

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

HIST 359: The Birth of Modern America

Welcome

Find Background Information