Guides: Film Studies: Articles, Journals, and Reviews

Databases with articles about film and cinema

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text, contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for more than 100 journals.
Journals include Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 100 reference & monographs such as Art and the Performance of Memory, Avant Garde Theatre, British Realist Theatre, Community Theatre, History of European Drama and Theatre, Learning Through Theatre, Opera, Performance Theory, Popular Theatres of Nineteenth Century France, Shakespeare, Theory and Performance, Sourcebook on Feminist Theatre and Performance, Theatre and the World, Twentieth-Century Actor Training, Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A literature reference database that includes biographical, bibliographical, and critical content. The LRC is built on the Gale Group three author databases: Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online.

JSTOR - Film Studies
Browse or search JSTOR's film studies journals. Includes Cineaste, Film History, Film Criticism, and Literature/Film Quarterly.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.

Cineaste
Magazine about the art of cinema. Includes articles, film reviews, and interviews.
Film Comment
The journal of the Film Society of Lincoln Center
Film Criticism
Peer-reviewed publication bringing together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies since 1975.
Film Quarterly (years covered: 2003 to present)
Journal devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media. Link goes to Univ. of California Press page.
Film Quarterly (years covered - 1958 to about 4 years ago)
Journal devoted to the study of film, television, and visual media. Link goes to JSTOR collection with a 4 year moving wall.
IndieWire
Covers filmmakers, news, festivals, and fans.
Journal of Film and Video
Publishes scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics.
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Uses a popular culture studies approach to examine commercial film and television, historical and contemporary. Articles discuss networks, genres, series, and audiences, as well as celebrity stars, directors, and studios.
Literature/Film Quarterly
The longest standing academic journal devoted to the study of adaptation.
Screen
Journal of academic film and television studies.
Sight and Sound
Published by the British Film Institute. Trade publication.

Historical New York Times (1851-2017) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 through 2017.
Historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1996) This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of newspaper articles, including advertisements. Indexing is keyword. Coverage is 1881-1996. For recent Los Angeles Times articles, search NexisUni or ProQuest Newstand.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of U.S. and global news sources.