Guides: Public Health: Find journal articles

Journal Articles on Public Health

For articles on Public Health and the environment:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Includes links to Stetson Full Text. Abstracts of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books from 1946 to present, with selected coverage back to 1809. From the US National Library of Medicine.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.

For articles on Public Health policy:

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full-text from the world's top management and marketing journals. Includes many leading journals in the areas of economics, finance, and accounting, as well as country economic reports.
Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. Congressional Documents (1789-Present), Congressional Hearings (1824-Present), Congressional Record (1873-1997), Congressional Research Reports (1916-2003), Serial Set (1789-Present), Serial Set Maps (1789-1969).
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine This link opens in a new window
The CQ Magazine is a resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill. It includes full text of articles published since 1983. Browse issues or search for articles using words, dates, subjects , etc.
Pro & Con This link opens in a new window
Designed to educate professionals and the public by providing an impartial view of controversial issues in Congress.

For articles on Public Health and society:

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with full-text for many journals dating back to 1895.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries

General Databases -- Journal and News Articles, Ebooks, Statistical Resources

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of U.S. and global news sources.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers hot-topic social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Provides informed, differing views on each side of an issue.
ProQuest Complete This link opens in a new window
Searching most of the ProQuest databases at once, including ProQuest Research, ABI/Inform, GenderWatch, Hoovers Company Records, ProQuest Biology, Science, and Social Science Journals, and ProQuest Newspapers.

Statistics and Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.

What is JOURNALS LIST ?

JOURNALS LIST is a database of the journals (i.e. periodicals) available in the Library, in both online full-text and hardcopy. JOURNALS LIST also tells you how far back a journal is held and whether there is an embargo (not available) for the most recent year for a full-text journal. If your instructor has referred you to a particular article, or if you've found an article of interest in the bibliography of another article--or book--JOURNALS LIST is your next stop to locate the article. Click on JOURNALS LIST at the top of the Library's homepage.

Search the Journals List

Public Health

Covid Resources

Citation tools

Journal Articles on Public Health

General Databases -- Journal and News Articles, Ebooks, Statistical Resources

What is JOURNALS LIST ?

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.