Guides: Research After Stetson: a Guide for Alumni: Health and Science Databases

Public Health and Medicine

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 265 peer-reviewed open access journals. Journals span all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
Free Medical Journals This link opens in a new window
The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet.
PLOS Collections This link opens in a new window
PLOS Collections aggregate and curate related content from PLOS journals and the PLOS Blogs Network.
Genome Biology This link opens in a new window
Genome Biology publishes research articles, new methods and software tools, in addition to reviews and opinions, from the full spectrum of biology, including molecular, cellular, organism or population biology studied from a genomic perspective, as well as sequence analysis, bioinformatics, proteomics, comparative biology and evolution.

Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF)
A free, web-based, portal to a wide variety of neuroscience-relevant resources, funded by the National Institutes of Health.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.

ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.

bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. rticles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. However, all articles undergo a basic screening process for offensive and/or non-scientific content.

SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
Click Search in the upper right to search for open access journal articles. An open access publishing site that includes science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences articles and book chapters.

INSPIRE
Next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system. Run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.
SCOAP3
SCOAP3 converts key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access. Here you can freely search, browse and of course download all Open Access articles sponsored by the international SCOAP3 initiative.

PubAg This link opens in a new window
A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.

Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Brings together reliable resources selected by the respective agencies as important science information.
PubChem
PubChem is a collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
SciTech Connect
A portal to free, publicly-available Department of Energy sponsored R&D results related to science, technology, and engineering research information including technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.