The duPont-Ball Library has a number of resources to help you prepare for graduate school admissions tests.
Check out the database, Peterson's Test and Career Prep, for practice tests and to search for grad programs and scholarships.
We have added test prep books and e-books to our collection. A sample of these books are linked below. Additional books may be found in OneSearch.
The Graduate Records Examination (GRE) is a standardized entrance exam used by many graduate schools.
A sample of GRE books have been selected to help you prepare for your exam.
McGraw-Hill's Conquering the New GRE Verbal and Writing by
Be ready for the verbal and writing sections of the GRE General Test--scheduled to be revised in August 2011 McGraw-Hill's Conquering GRE Verbal and Writing offers you intensive review for every kind of verbal question on the GRE, a well as in-depth essay-writing guidance for the Analytical Writing section. It is packed with examples, drills, and two complete sample GRE Verbal sections for practice. Also included is a comprehensive GRE vocabulary review, along with tips and strategies for sharpening reading skills. Features: A complete review of GRE vocabulary Sample GRE verbal and analytical writing questions to build your test-taking confidence The knowledge of GRE experts and textbook writers who have written or revised several major test-prep guides Topics include: The GRE Verbal Reasoning Section; How Verbal Reasoning Is Scored; Action Plans; Vocabulary; Reading Comprehension; Sentence Structure Skills; GRE Verbal and Writing Question Formats; GRE Analogies; GRE Antonyms; GRE Sentence Completions; GRE Reading Comprehension; GRE Text Completions; The GRE Analytical Writing Assessment; GRE Verbal Reasoning Practice Tests; GRE Verbal Practice Test 1; GRE Verbal Practice Test 2
This link opens in a new window
GRE Prep Course by
Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for the New GRE.
Fully revised for the new test.
Every year, students pay $1,000 and more to test prep companies to prepare for the GRE. Now you can get the same preparation in a book. GRE Prep Course provides the equivalent of a 2-month, 50-hour course.
Although the GRE is a difficult test, it is a very learnable test. GRE Prep Course presents a thorough analysis of the GRE and introduces numerous analytic techniques that will help you immensely, not only on the GRE but in graduate school as well.
Features:
* Math: Twenty-two chapters provide comprehensive review of GRE math.
* Verbal: Develop the ability to spot places from which questions are likely to be drawn as you read a passage (pivotal words, counter-premises, etc.). Also, learn the 4000 essential GRE words.
* Writing: Comprehensive analysis of the writing task, including writing techniques, punctuation, grammar, rhetoric, and style.
* Mentor Exercises: These exercises provide hints, insight, and partial solutions to ease your transition from seeing GRE problems solved to solving them on your own.
This link opens in a new window
Gre 4000 by
The verbal section of the GRE is essentially a vocabulary test. With a few exceptions, if you know the word, you will probably be able to answer the question correctly. Thus, it is crucial that you improve your vocabulary. Even if you have a strong vocabulary, you will still encounter unfamiliar words on the GRE. Many students write off questions, which contain words, they don't recognize. This is a mistake. This book introduces numerous techniques that decode unfamiliar words and prod your memory of words you only half-remember. With these techniques, you will often be able to squeeze out enough meaning from an unfamiliar word to answer a question correctly. Nevertheless, don't rely on just these techniques--you must study word lists. Obviously, you cannot attempt to memorize the dictionary, and you don't need to. The GRE tests a surprisingly limited number of words, and this book has 4000 prime candidates. Granted, memorizing a list of words is rather dry, but it is probably the most effective way of improving your performance on the verbal section. All the words you need for success on the GRE Features: * 4000 Words Defined * Word Analysis section * 200 Prefixes, Roots, and Suffixes * Concise, practical definitions
This link opens in a new windowThe Law School Admission Test (LSAT) is a standardized test required for admission into law schools approved by the American Bar Association. The test is a measure of critical reading, verbal reasoning, and analytical thinking skills.
A sample of LSAT books have been selected to help you prepare for your exam.
SmarTEST prep : guide to LSAT logic games by This link opens in a new windowThe Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) is a standardized entrance exam used by many medical schools. The test assesses mastery of basic scientific concepts, problem solving, critical thinking, as well as analysis and reasoning skills. The skills tested are those identified by medical professionals as essential for success in medical school and as a doctor.
A sample of MCAT books have been selected to provide more information about your exam.
The MCAT Biology Book by
Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for MCAT Biology. The MCAT Biology Book provides a comprehensive overview of MCAT biology appropriate for all pre-med students preparing for the MCAT exam. With this and its two companion volumes, The MCAT Physics Book and The MCAT Chemistry Book, Nova Press provides the most comprehensive series of test-prep books for the MCAT. In twenty-one chapters, the basics of biology are described in easy-to-understand text. Illustrations help emphasize relevant topics and clarify difficult concepts. Each chapter concludes with a set of problems modeled after the MCAT exam, with complete explanation of the answers. Also, includes a thorough analysis of the MCAT verbal section. Authors Nancy Morvillo and Matthew Schmidt both obtained their Ph.D. in genetics from the State University of New York at Stony Brook.
This link opens in a new window
Getting into Medical School for Dummies by
Your plain-English guide to getting into the medical school of your dreams Getting accepted to medical school is a long and rigorous process and many students find they need help. If you're one of these students, Getting into Medical School For Dummies is the perfect tool to help you through the process and realize your dream. By providing you with concise information about preparing for and applying to medical school, Getting into Medical School For Dummies prepares you for the application process. Written by an industry expert, it gives you a distinct advantage in the competitive medical school admissions process, preparing you for every step and helping you create your best application. Takes you through the often-overwhelming process of applying to medical school Explains what medical schools and admissions committees are really looking for Provides plain-English explanations of complicated medical school admissions processes If you're one of the over 40,000 students who apply to medical school each year and need help sorting through the admissions schedule, writing statements of intent, and preparing to take the MCAT, Getting Into Medical School For Dummies has you covered!
This link opens in a new windowThe Graduate Management Admission test (GMAT) is a standardized entrance exam used by many business schools. The test measures basic verbal, mathematical, and analytical writing skills learned in school.
A sample of GMAT books have been selected to help you prepare for your exam.
The Official Guide for GMAT Quantitative Review 2015 with Online Question Bank and Exclusive Video by
This is the only official study guide focusing on the quantitative portion of the GMAT exam. It delivers more than 300 retired GMAT® questions and answer explanations from the creators of the test to help focus your test preparation efforts. New to The Official Guide for GMAT® Quantitative Review 2015: Online access to 300 Problem Solving and Data Sufficiency questions allowing the creation of customized practice tests. Exclusive access to videos from real test takers and GMAC staff who share insight and tips on GMAT® preparation.
This link opens in a new window
The Official Guide for GMAT Verbal Review 2015 by
This is the only official study guide focusing on the verbal portion of the GMAT exam. It delivers more than 300 retired GMAT® questions and answer explanations from the creators of the test to help focus your test preparation efforts. New to The Official Guide for GMAT® verbal Review 2015: Online access to 300 Reading Comprehension, Critical Reasoning, and Sentence Correction questions allowing the creation of customized practice tests. Exclusive access to videos from real test takers and GMAC staff who share insight and tips on GMAT® preparation.
This link opens in a new window