Guides: Latin American Studies: Articles

Library Databases with content in English and Spanish

Great places to start looking for peer-reviewed articles:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Limit to Latin American Studies by clicking Browse, the by Subject. Under Area Studies, choose Latin American Studies.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Articles in Spanish and Portuguese:

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.

SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online
Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.

News sources, including non-English sources:

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of thousands of U.S. and global news sources.

Special collections focused on Latin America:

Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Click on the link below for access.

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Country reports that include local customs, basic economic and social data, politics and history, national flags, national anthems, etc. CultureGrams consists of three editions of country reports updated annually: World Edition, World Kids Edition, and States Edition.

Statistics:

World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators Online is a database of statistics from the World Bank’s Data Group. It provides high quality national and international statistics for users worldwide and lets users assess what governments do by accessing reliable data.
UN Data This link opens in a new window
Search all publicly-available UN databases at a single entry point. Also includes International Financial Statistics, World Development Indicators, OECD data, LABORSTA, & Key Indicators of the Labour Market.