Guides: Philosophy: Find Background information

Philosophy Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Some philosophy focused reference works:

Why use reference works?

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Britannica Academic
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Gale eBooks
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

Philosophy

Philosophy Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Why use reference works?