Guides: FSEM 100: The Secret Life of Bees: Get Started

Welcome

Library research services are available for additional research assistance. Here's how you can reach out to a librarian who will be happy to answer your questions and help you find the information you need.

Ask a Librarian

Call or text 386-747-9028 or email libref@stetson.edu with any questions.

Request a Research Consultation

Set up a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for personalized research assistance.

Image Credit: rawpixel.com

Library Databases

General Resources

OneSearch
Select the Stetson Collections Only option to search for items accessible through the duPont-Ball Library.
ProQuest Research Library
A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles in the arts, business, health, medicine, history, science, technology, social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, professional publication, and magazines.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A broad, general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.

Environmental Science-focused databases:

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost)
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. Includes perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Science-focused databases:

Science Direct
This database includes the health and life sciences portion of the Science Direct College Edition. About 1,000 peer-reviewed journals; hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works; back to volume one, issue one.
Biological Abstracts
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
PubAg
A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.

Websites

Apiculture websites:

University of Florida Honey Bee Research and Extension Lab
The mission of the Honey Bee Research and Extension Laboratory (HBREL) is to advance our understanding of managed honey bees in Florida, the U.S., and globally, with a goal of improving the health and productivity of honey bees everywhere.
Eastern Apicultural Society of North America, Inc. (EAS)
An international nonprofit educational organization founded in 1955 for the promotion of bee culture, education of beekeepers, certification of Master Beekeepers and excellence in bee research.

Environmental Science-focused websites:

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The Environmental Protection Agency is an independent executive agency of the United States federal government tasked with environmental protection matters. Use this resource to find reports, news releases, data, legislation, regulations, and more.
MyEnvironment
MyEnvironment is an application built by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to help the public get a sense of environmental indicators in their neighborhood. By keying in a geography, the application comes back with information about the user's location including air, and water quality, energy production and facilities, environmental health risks, and climate information.
climate.nasa.gov
The mission of “Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet” is to provide the public with accurate and timely news and information about Earth’s changing climate, along with current data and visualizations, presented from the unique perspective of NASA, one of the world’s leading climate research agencies.
Forest Service - U.S. Department of Agriculture
The Forest Service is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. FS manages public lands in national forests and grasslands. Find news releases, photos and videos, maps, and more.
UN Environment Programme
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has been the global authority that sets the environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment.

Academic Videos

The library has both DVDs and streaming video. The circulating DVD collection contains more than 3,000 items, including non-fiction films, documentaries, and feature films. The videos are shelved on the north side of the main floor in our Fine Arts wing.

The non-fiction and feature film videos in the Library are in OneSearch. Search by Title to locate the Call Number of the video. You can also search by keyword for a topic, director, or series. Filter your results to video for streaming video and DVDs or filter to DVD for physical DVDs.

OneSearch
Select the Stetson Collections Only option to search for items accessible through the duPont-Ball Library.
Films on Demand
A streaming video platform with thousands of documentaries, educational films and news reels. Content from Films on Demand can be shown in the classroom setting and linked in your Canvas course.

Films on Demand - Environmental Science
Browse Environmental Science content with Films on Demand.

Kanopy
Kanopy includes documentaries and feature films. All videos provided through the Kanopy streaming video platform have public performance rights.

Information Resources

Borrow, Renew, Request

Collections

Research Help

Teaching and Instruction

Information for...

Technology & Equipment

Library Spaces

General Information

Support & Activities

FSEM 100: The Secret Life of Bees

Welcome

Library Databases

Websites

Academic Videos