Ukraine Information Sources

A freely accessible online database of Ukrainian films and movies. Created by the Ukrainian Institute, which focuses on "strengthening Ukraine internationally and domestically as a subject using the tools of cultural diplomacy," and seeks to "promote better knowledge and understanding of Ukraine internationally, and develop cultural relations between Ukraine and other countries."

EuroDocs provides freely accessible "online sources for European history" research, including Ukrainian studies. Material includes "texts, video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation."

The State Archival Service of Ukraine (aka "Ukrderzharkhiv") has been growing since 1917 and is the main steward of "state policy in the field of archival affairs and record keeping" in Ukraine. The central mission of the State Archival Service is to "contribute to the democratic development of Ukraine," as well as meet "the information requirements of society and the state."

"This collection seeks to document the start of the 2014 conflict in Ukraine. Contributions to this collection were made by the Archive-It team and subject matter experts from Stanford University, Library of Congress, Global Investigative News Network, and Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute in the fields of Investigative Journalism, Russian, and Eurasian studies. Content includes news outlets, social media, blogs, and government websites."

The Ukrainian National Biographic Archive (UNBA) is "an electronic scientific and information resource" formed by the Institute of Biographical Research of the V.I. Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine. The goal of this archival project is to "create a fundamental domestic scientific and information resource that would integrate verified information about Ukrainian figures of the past and would serve the growing information needs of the spheres of education, science, culture, public administration, and the task of representing Ukraine in the world."

Started in 2012, Libraria is an ongoing project that seeks "to digitize and provide online access to the largest possible array of Ukrainian historical periodicals."