Guides: FSEM 100: Professor Galloway: Home

Company & Industry Research

Private Companies

Search Strategies:

1. Visit the company's official site, especially the about page, for background, leadership, and product information.

2. Check local newspapers and business journals for valuable insight. The duPont-Ball Library offers several business news databases.

3. Use LinkedIn to identify executives, company size, and hiring trends.

Search Using Industry Codes

NAICS Codes for Professional Sports:

71121 Spectator Sports

711211 Sports Teams and Clubs

711212 Racetracks

711219 Other Spectator Sports

1. Start with the team's website. Check the about page for information on the team's administration.

2. Use Wikipedia as a starting point. Check the sources cited within the wiki article.

3. Use library databases to find popular and trade sources. See below for recommended databases.

Statista
Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
NexisUni
News, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream
More than 350 newspapers, many with full-text. Coverage 1995 to present. The Major Newspapers collection includes The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and more.