Guides: German Studies: Language and Literature Research Guide: Language Learning Resources

Dictionaries

German - English and English German Dictionaries

Cambridge German–English Dictionary
English translations of thousands of German words and example sentences from both the Global German–English Dictionary and the Password German–English Dictionary

Pocket Oxford German Dictionary by M. Clark; O. Thyen
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford-Duden German Dictionary
Call Number: Reference PF3640 .O94 1999
Publication Date: 1999

Grammar and usage

A Student Grammar of German by Paul Stocker; Christopher Young
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2012
Reference guide for undergraduates and other intermediate and advanced students. Sets out the grammar of the language in a clear and jargon-free way.
Practising German Grammar by Martin Durrell; Katrin Kohl; Gudrun Loftus
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2011
Includes varied and accessible exercises for developing an in-depth and practical awareness of German as it is spoken and written today.

Why use reference works?

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

German Wikipedia

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by John Sandford (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2013
Brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world.
Modern Germany: an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990 by Dieter K. Buse (Editor); Juergen Doerr (Editor)
Call Number: Reference DD14 .M64 1998 v.1-2
Publication Date: 1998
(Book is in the library) Covers every major aspect of German culture and society from 1871 to 1990.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature by Friederike Eigler; Susanne Kord
Call Number: Reference PT41 .F46 1997
Publication Date: 1997
This book is in the library
Encyclopedia of German Literature by Matthias Konzett
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2000
Includes entries on writers, individual works, and topics essential to an understanding of this rich literary tradition.

German Studies: Language and Literature Research Guide

Mango Languages

Dictionaries

Why use reference works?

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.