Skip to main content

Muslim American Resources

Guide to finding library and other resources on Muslim Americans

Successful searching

Muslims in North American Topic page

Muslim American immigrants are one of the country's more recent immigrant groups: according to a 2011 survey by the Pew Research Center, a full 71 percent of foreign-born Muslims arrived after 1990. Nevertheless, the number of Muslim Americans is large and still growing. In 2016, Pew Research Center updated their estimates and said that there were approximately 3.3 million Muslims living in American in 2015. Growth in the population is due both to an increase of Muslim immigrants and to Americans who are converting to Islam. Exact figures are difficult to obtain as the US Census does not cover religion, but the Muslim American population was estimated to be at least 2.7 million people in 2014. Other estimates have placed the number as high as 7 million. While the Pew Research Center has projected some estimates based on their 2011 survey, no new survey had been taken as of early 2016.

Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2015

 

 

Finding ebooks and print books in the library

Try these subject search terms:

  • Muslims—United States
  • African American Muslims
  • Muslims in art
  • Muslims in literature 
  • Muslims in motion pictures 
  • Muslims in popular culture 
  • Muslims on television  
  • Muslims—Political activity
  • Muslims—Migrations 
  • Muslim women
  • Muslim youth
  • Muslim students
  • Islamic education
  • Islamic ethics 
  • Islamic fundamentalism
  • Islamic law 
  • Islamophobia

These subject terms can also be used in the "Search 'Almost' Everything" box on the library page:

Muslim and Islamic Reference Works in the Library

The Encyclopedia of Islam - REF. DS35.53 .E535

Third Edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is updated four times each year with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship. The new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century, attention to Muslim minorities all over the world, full attention to social science as well as humanistic perspectives.

The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world - REF. DS35.53 .O96 2009

"This is a comprehensive encyclopedia dedicated to the institutions, religion, politics, and culture in Muslim societies throughout the world. Beginning coverage in the sixth century and extending it to the present day, the Encyclopedia covers Muslims in the Arab heartland as well as South and Southeast Asia, Europe, and the Americas.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim world - REF. BP40 .E525 2004

This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

Encyclopedia of women & Islamic cultures - REF. HQ1170 .E53 2003

Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.

Muslim and Islamic Journals

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.