Guides: Latin American Studies: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Why use reference works?

Consider using encyclopedias and other reference sources when you begin researching a topic. Some encyclopedias will provide more in-depth information than others, but any general encyclopedia is a good source to consult for background information of your chosen subject area. Most encyclopedias provide the following:

Main concepts, including names, dates, places
Keywords and subject terms related to topic
Lists of related articles or additional resources

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Explore tens of thousands of articles, videos, primary sources and journals/periodicals. Browse popular topics, news, biographies, and more! This is a great resource for getting research started or getting more acquainted with a particular topic.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes the Oxford Companions Series.

Latin American Studies focused Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Relevant encyclopedias:

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Relevant dictionaries are located in the Reference Section on the main floor of the library.

Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era: A Biographical Dictionary of more than 12,700 Persons - Reference Shelves: N6502.4 .S45 2003
Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary - Reference Shelves: ML105 .F53 2002

Latin American Studies

Learn more about...

Why use reference works?

Latin American Studies focused Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Email libref@stetson.edu. Call or text 386-747-9028.