Skip to main content

U.S. Congress - Resources at duPont-Ball Library: Web sites

Congressional Web Sites

U.S. House of Representatives

Financial Disclosure Reports - Financial Disclosure Reports include information about the source, type, amount, or value of the incomes of Members, officers, certain employees of the U.S. House of Representatives and related offices, and candidates for the U.S. House of Representatives. Download by year or search Financial disclosure reports by members or candidates names.

U.S. Senate

Dates of Sessions of the Congress, 1789 - present

Resume of Congressional Activity 
Established in 1947, a final Résumé is issued at the end of each session of Congress. During the current session, a cumulative Résumé is published monthly in the Congressional Record

Media and News Coverage

C-SPAN is the private, non-profit cable news network that devotes all its programming to Congress and the political process.

The Hill is "the newspaper for and about Congress... delivering nonpartisan reporting on the inner workings of Congress."

Roll Call (CQ) touts itself as the "insider's newspaper " to happenings in Congress.  Its policy is to "report from a nonpartisan perspective on members of Congress, congressional caucuses, political races, the status of major bills,
and the activities of major committees. The newspaper also includes opinion columns."

Web sites about Congress

The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C., Inc. (LLSDC) has a Legislative Source Book Web site that contains hundreds of links to a broad range of Congressional information.  Of particular interest are:

Legislative Histories of Selected U.S. Laws on the Internet (Free Sources) - arranged alphabetically and by public law number.

Selected Congressional Research Service Reports on Congress and Its Procedures includes some 36 alphabetically arranged CRS reports, most of which have never before been made available on the Web. The site also links to most all other CRS Reports on the Internet as well as proposed current and past federal legislation that requires CRS reports to be made available on the Internet.

OpenCongress is a free, open-source, not-for-profit, and non-partisan public resource website, a project of the Participatory Politics Foundation and The Sunlight Foundation.  Unique content from this site includes:

  • Votes - see roll call votes and do a comparison of votes by different members of Congress.
  • Issues - an alphabetical list of more than 4,000 issues created and assigned to bills by the Congressional Research Service, the non-partisan research arm of Congress. 
  • Money Trail - a tool to help you "draw connections between campaign contributions, the specific content of bills, and important votes by Members of Congress."

Vital Statistics on Congress is a joint publication of the American Enterprise Institute and the Brookings Institution containing tables of demographic information on Congressional members, productivity of Congress, Congressional election data, voting alignments, campaign finance, and a great deal more statistical data.  Download either the entire publication or individual chapters in pdf or as Excel spreadsheets for free.

Center on Congress at Indiana University -The Center's "Learn About Congress" page is designed to show you how Congress works and how you can become more involved in America’s representative democracy. Resources are provided in a variety of formats,including interactive e-learning modules and online activities, so you can choose how you want to learn more about Congress. 

The Dirksen Congressional Center is a "non-partisan, not-for-profit organization... that seeks to improve civic engagement by promoting a better understanding of Congress and its leaders through archival, research, and educational programs." The Center is named for Everett McKinley Dirksen (1896-1969), a former Congressional Representative, Senator, and Senate Minority Leader.   Among the excellent online resources created by the Dirksen Center are:

The Congressional Timeline arrays more than 550 of the nation's laws on a timeline beginning in 1933 and continuing to the present. A second timeline "band" depicts major political events of the period as a way to provide context for Congress's law-making.

CongressLink, although primarily intended for use by teachers of American Government and civics, contains much basic information about the U.S. Congress:  how it works, its members and leaders, and the public policies it produces.   It is a good resource for a beginning researcher. 

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875 is a Library of Congress Web Site that offers a collection of early documents and publications of Congress, including the Annals of Congress, Congressional Globe, House and Senate Journals, Statutes at Large and other resources.

Center for Legislative Archives, National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives is the official repository of the records of House and Senate committees. Particularly valuable are the online guides to the committee records of the House and Senate, which provide excellent summaries of the history and purpose of each congressional committee. 

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.