Skip to main content

Journal Alerts

Some databases allow you to set up alerts that notify you automatically when a new issue of a journal comes out and include a table of contents or a link to the full text of the articles in that issue.

ProQuest Databases that Allow Journal Alerts

Several of the library's research databases are provided by a vendor called ProQuest.   ProQuest databases do not require setting up an account in order to start an alert; HOWEVER, in order to modify and cancel alerts, you will need to set up a My Research account (see screen shot below for instructions). 

Here is a list of the databases provided by ProQuest:

To delete or modify an alert or feed, click on My Research. You should see a list of tabs, “Documents, Searches, Alerts, etc.”  Click on Alerts or Feeds, then click on delete for those you want to delete. Or just use the "Delete this alert" link included in the alert email messages.

ProQuest--Creating an Account

First, click on My Research, then on Create a My Research Account.

 

Then you'll be asked to set up a password, etc. for the account.

ProQuest Databases that Allow Journal Alerts--Instructions

 Journal Alerts--

There are two ways to set up a journal alert in ProQuest databases:

 

1.    Click on Publications (see screen shots below). Find the publication for which you want to set up the alert. Double click on the title of the journal for which you want to set up the alert.  A screen will open that will allow you to set up an email alert or an RSS feed.

 

OR

 

2. After the results of a search have come up, click on the link to the Citation/Abstract of any article in the journal for which you want to set up the email or RSS feed (see screen shots below). Then click on the journal title. If that journal allows alerts or feeds to be set up (not all journals offer alerts or feeds), you should see links to setting up email alerts or RSS feeds.

 

All the ProQuest databases will follow one or both of the procedures outlined above to set up a journal alert.

 

To delete or modify an alert or feed, click on My Research. You should see a list of tabs, “Documents, Searches, Alerts, etc.” Click on Alerts or Feeds, then click on delete for those you want to delete. Or just use the "Delete this alert" link included in the alert email messages.

ProQuest--Setting Up an Alert Through the Publications List

Click on Publications. Type the name the publication for which you want to set up the alert. and click on Search.  After the results come up, double click on the title of the journal for which you want to set up the alert. 

A screen will open that will allow you to set up an email alert or an RSS feed.

ProQuest--Setting Up an Alert from the Results List

 

After the results of a search have come up, click on the link to the Citation/Abstract  of any article in the journal for which you want to set up the email or RSS feed (see screen shots below).

 

Then click on the journal title on the Citation/Abstract page.

If that journal allows alerts or feeds to be set up (not all journals offer alerts or feeds), you should see links to setting up email alerts or RSS feeds.

ProQuest--Deleting an Alert or RSS Feed

To delete or modify an alert or feed, click on My Research.

 

 

 

You should see a list of tabs, “Documents, Searches, Alerts, etc.” Click on Alerts or Feeds, then click on delete for those you want to delete. 
 

Or just use the "Delete this alert" link included in the alert email messages (illustrated below).

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.