Skip to main content

Journal Alerts

Some databases allow you to set up alerts that notify you automatically when a new issue of a journal comes out and include a table of contents or a link to the full text of the articles in that issue.

EbscoHost Databases Journal Alerts

EbscoHost--Many of the library's databases are provided by a company called EbscoHost. The box directly below this box lists all the EbscoHost databases that allow journal alerts.

To create an alert in any EbscoHost database, you need to set up a personal account in EbscoHost.  You need to set up your account in only one Ebsco database; that account is then good in any Ebsco database, but you have to sign into each database to create an alert in that database.

Follow the instructions in the boxes below to set up a journal alert or delete an alert in any EbscoHost database .

 

EbscoHost Databases that Allow Journal Alerts

The following databases are provided by EbscoHost and provide journal alerts:

EbscoHost Databases--Sign In

§ To create an account, click on “Sign In,” then on “Create a New Account” to establish an account. (See screen shot above.)

 

EbscoHost Databases that Allow Journal Alerts--Choosing from the Publications List


Journal Alerts---

For most individual Ebsco databases, click on Publications (see screen shots below). Find the publication for which you want to set up the alert.   

 

 



 

After you've found the journal for which you want to set up the alert, click on the RSS icon next to that journal title (even if you want to set up an email alert).

 

 

 

A screen will open that will allow you to set up an email alert or an RSS feed.  After you've made your choices, click on Save Alert.

 

 

EbscoHost--Choosing from the Results List

However, for the Discovery (all-in-one) search, launched from the library’s home page, and for any other EbscoHost database, there is another method that can be used to set up a journal alert.

After the results of a search have come up, click on an article title in the journal for which you want to set up the email or RSS feed (see screen shots below).

 

 

 

 Then click on the journal title.

 

 

 

Next click on Alert/Save/Share (upper right-hand corner).  Then choose to receive your alert via email or via RSS feed.

 

EbscoHost Databases that Follow a Slightly Different Procedure

All the EbscoHost databases will follow one or both of the procedures outlined above to set up a journal alert.

 

A few tips for specific EbscoHost databases that follow a bit different procedure in addition to one of the two procedures outlined above:

v For ERIC, there is no “publications” tab at the top of the screen. Instead, click on Indexes, then choose journal title, then click on BROWSE or type in the name of the journal you want. Check the box next to the title you want, then click ADD, then Search. Once the result list comes up, click on Alert/Save/Share, click on email alert or RSS feed, and fill in the necessary information.

v For MLA it is the MLA Directory of Periodicals at the top of the screen. Check the box next to the journal for which you want to set up the alert. Then click on Search. Then click on Alert/Save/Share, then on email alert or RSS feed, and fill in the necessary information.

v For PsycINFO, there also is no “publications” tab at the top of the screen. Instead, click on Indexes, then choose publication name to browse, then click on BROWSE or type in the name of the journal you want. Check the box next to the title you want, then click ADD, then Search. Once the title comes up, click on Alert/Save/Share, click on email alert or RSS feed, and fill in the necessary information.

v Teacher Reference Center is another database that works a bit differently. There is no “publications” tab at the top of the screen. Instead, click on Indexes, then choose Journal Name to browse, then click on BROWSE or type in the name of the journal you want. Check the box next to the title you want, then click ADD, then Search. Once the title comes up, click on Alert/Save/Share, click on email alert or RSS feed, and fill in the necessary information.

EbscoHost--Deleting Alerts

If you want to delete an alert or an RSS feed--

  • Login to the Ebsco database in which you set up the alert
  • Click on “Search History”
  • Click on Retrieve Alerts.

 

 

 

  • Then check the ones you want to delete and click on delete.

 

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.