Skip to main content

Search Alerts

How to set up a database search and have the results emailed to you at regular intervals.

Web of Science Search Alerts

Web of Science is made up of two databases: Web of Science and Biological Abstracts. You can set up an alert in either database, but not in the combination of the two. To get to either, single database, click on the “Select a Database” tab, and then click on the database you want.

  • First you must sign in to the database (see screen shots below).
  • After you do a search, click on "Create Alert/RSS."
  • Give the alert a name and description (optional), check the box next to “Send me email alerts” (if you want email alerts) and make any other choices you wish.
  • Click on “Save Your History to the Server.” It’s at this point you have the choice of sending the search to an RSS feed if you prefer.

Cited reference alert. Any time a specific article is cited in either Web of Science or Biological Abstracts, you will be alerted; you can use it to track citations of your own publications or a key publication that you want to follow. To create a cited reference alert, click on the title of the article in the results list so that you have the full bibliographic record (title, author, date, journal name, abstract, etc.) of that article showing on the screen. Then click on “Create Citation Alert” along the right-hand side of the page.

Delete an alert or RSS feed. Be sure you are in the database in which you originally created the alert (Web of Science or Biological Abstracts).

  • Click on “My Saved Searches,” or “My Citation Alerts” (whichever is applicable).
  • Select the alert(s) you wish to delete; then click on delete

Web of Science - Sign In and Create Alert

Sign in to the database.

After you do a search, click on "Create Alert/RSS."

 

Choose the setting options for your alert (name of alert, email address, frequency of alert, etc.).  Then click on Save (Save your history to the server).  If you want to set up an RSS feed, you will get a screen with instructions about feeds once you click on Save.

Web of Science - Cited Reference Alert

Cited reference alert --that is, any time a specific article is cited in either Web of Science or Biological Abstracts, you will be alerted; you can use it to track citations of your own publications or a key publication that you want to follow.

To create a cited reference alert, click on the title of the article in the results list so that you have the full bibliographic record (title, author, date, journal name, abstract, etc.) of that article showing on the screen. Then click on “Create Citation Alert” along the right-hand side of the page.

 

Web of Science - Deleting Alerts

To delete an alert or RSS feed, be sure you are in the database in which you originally created the alert (Web of Science or Biological Abstracts).

  • Click on “My Saved Searches."
  • Select the alert(s) you wish to delete; then click on delete.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.