Skip to main content

Search Alerts

How to set up a database search and have the results emailed to you at regular intervals.

ProQuest Databases Search Alerts

ProQuest databases do not require setting up an account in order to institue a search alert. However, in order to modify and cancel alerts, you will need to set up a My Research account.

  1. To set up a search alert, execute your search, then click on “Create Alert" or "Create RSS Feed."  Then simply enter the schedule and email address or the RSS Preferences for each alert that you want to set.
  2. Click on “Create Alert."
  3. You will receive an email verifying the alert you've set up.

To delete or modify an alert, click on My Research. You should see a list of tabs, “Documents, Searches, Alerts, RSS Feeds, etc.”  Click on the appropriate tab and check the box next to those you want to delete.  Then click on delete. Or just use the "Delete this alert" link included in the alert email messages.

ProQuest Databases that Allow Article Alerts

  • ABI INFORM. Business
  • Ethnic NewsWatch. Collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority,and native press
  • GenderWatch. Focuses on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas with material as far back as 1970
  • ProQuest Newspapers.  Abstracts and indexes more than 350 newspapers. Full-text of the articles is also available for 230 of those newspapers in ASCII format that have no illustrations.  Also Includes newspapers in other Proquest subscriptions such as ABI/Inform Complete, Ethnic NewsWatch, and GenderWatch.
  • ProQuest Research. An excellent general database covering many disciplines and including both popular and scholarly journals magazines, and newspapers. Full-text of journal articles from the early 1990s to date. Citations and abstracts from the early 1970s to date.
  • ProQuest Complete.  When choosing ProQuest Complete, you are searching all the ProQuest databases at once, including ProQuest Research, ABI/Inform,  Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Hoovers Company Records, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, and ProQuest Newspapers.

ProQuest - My Research

To set up an account, click on My Research, then on Create a My Research Account.

ProQuest - Create Alert

Execute your search, then click on Create Alert or Create RSS Feed.

ProQuest - Email Alert Options

Once you've clicked on Create Alert, you'll be asked for the settings of the alert (email address, how often you want the alert to be sent, etc.).  Fill in the settings you want, then click on Create Alert.

RSS Feeds - Set Up RSS Feeds

Once you've clicked on Create RSS Feed, you'll be asked for the settings of the feed.  Fill in the settings you want, then click on Create feed.

ProQuest - Delete an Alert or RSS Feed

To delete or modify an alert, click on My Research. You should see a list of tabs, “Documents, Searches, Alerts, RSS Feeds, etc.”  Click on the appropriate tab and check the box next to those you want to delete.  Then click on delete. Or just use the "Delete this alert" link included in the alert email messages.

ProQuest - Delete an Alert or RSS Feed

You can also opt to delete an alert from the email messages you receive regarding the alert.  Simply click on Delete this Alert.  Clicking on Delete this Alert will take you to the ProQuest home page where you can login to your ProQuest account.  Then simply follow the steps outlined in the box above.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.