Skip to main content

Search Alerts

How to set up a database search and have the results emailed to you at regular intervals.

EBSCOHost Databases Search Alerts

Set up your account in any EBSCO database; that account is then good in all EBSCO databases, but you have to sign into each database to create an alert in that database.

To create an account, click on “Sign In,” then on “Create a New Account” to establish an account.

  • For all EBSCO databases, after you’ve signed in to your account in the database you want the search to be repeated in, execute the search you want to repeat.
  • Then click on Alert/Save/Share.
    • Click on email alert or RSS Feed, and fill in the necessary information.
  • NOTE: If you have conducted many searches in one search session, click on Search History. Click on the RSS icon to pull up the search you want to make into an alert.                                                                                                                                                

There are two ways to delete or edit an alert. For either way, first you must login to the database in which you set up the alert.

  1. click on “Search History.” Click on Retrieve Alerts. Then check the ones you want to delete and click on delete.
  2. click on Folder, then check the box next to any alert you want to delete and then click on Delete Items.

EBSCO Databases that Allow Article Alerts

  • One Search (box on library’s home page). This searches all of the Ebsco databases and several other databases all at once.
  • EbscoHost Academic Search. Excellent general database covering many disciplines and including popular, trade, and scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
  • ATLA. Fom the American Theological Library Association (Religious Studies).
  • Business Source Premiere
  • Communication and Mass Media
  • ERIC. Educational Resource Information Center, U.S. Dept. of Education.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
  • MLA Bibliography
  • Music Index
  • PsycINFO
  • Readers’ Guide
  • SocINDEX
  • Teacher Reference Center

Some, but not all, EBSCO databases also allow cited reference searches. If that is an option in the database you’re in, on the initial search page, click on Cited References or More (along the top) and then highlight Cited References.

EBSCOHost - Sign In

EBSCOHost - Alert/Save/Share

EBSCOHost - Delete Using Search History

Sign in to your EbscoHost account.  Click on Search History, then on Retrieve Alerts.

 

Check the box next to the alert or alerts you want to delete; then click on Delete.  You can also edit the settings of an alert (change email address, change how often you want to receive alerts, change to an RSS feed, etc.) by clicking on Edit Alert.

EBSCOHost - Delete Using Folder

A second way to delete or edit a search alert is to sign in to your EbscoHost folder, then click on Folder.  You can then check the box next to any alert you want to delete and click on Delete Items, or you can click on Edit Alert to change any of the alert settings.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.