Skip to main content

Finding Items in the duPont-Ball Library

How to find books, articles, and videos in the library

Print Journals

Print journals are arranged alphabetically by the title of the journal. The newest journal issues are found on the main floor; older journal issues are found on the ground floor. See the link below for a location map:
If Stetson does not own the journal or have access to it full text through one of our databases, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan Request:

Broad Search

A good place to start to find articles in journals or magazines is the library's home page:

Select the One Search tab in the center menu. Type your search term(s) into the SEARCH box and then click on Search.

Once those search results come up, you can limit or filter your search using the options along the left-hand side of the screen.

General Databases

If you need to have more limits placed on a search, you might want to try one of the library's general databases. Go to the library's Database page:

Scroll down, and then choose a general database. (General databases are also listed in the right column of the Databases page.)

A general database contains articles from many disciplines and includes both popular and scholarly articles. The library has several general databases:

After you have chosen a database, type in your search term or terms, and click on Search or Start.

Subject Databases

If you need more discipline-specific journal articles, go to the library's Database page:

Use the pull-down menus at the top of the page to limit to a specific discipline. Examples include ATLA for religious studies, MLA (Modern Language Association) for modern languages and literatures (including English); PsycInfo for psychology; SocIndex for sociology.

Getting the Text of the Article

In your list of results, if there is a link to the full text of the article in a database, then click on that link. You can mark results in the list to be printed, downloaded, or emailed.

If there is no link to full text, then you will need find out if the library subscribes to that journal or has access to it full text through one of the library's databases. To determine if Stetson owns the full text of a journal article (in paper or on one of the databases) go to the library's home page and click on Journals List:

If a journal title is found in this list, you will see whether we have the journal in paper, microform, or in any of our databases. If the title of the journal is listed as being in one of our databases, click on the link to that database and then search for the particular volume and issue in which the article you want was published.

Search Tips

If you don't get enough results, try using different vocabulary or broader search terms.

If you get too many results, try using more specific search terms or use the Boolean operator AND to narrow the search:

You can also limit your search to scholarly journals, also called peer reviewed journals or academic journals. These will be the journals that college professors most want to see in serious research papers.

Journals by Title

Also, you can browse journal titles by broad subject categories. After clicking on Journals List:

you can browse by discipline using the links at the bottom of the page. Select a relevant category and sub-categories, and note the journals listed.

Have a question? Ask a librarian! Call or text 386-747-9028.